West Africa is a region in the western part of the African continent, comprising 16 countries. These countries are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

West Africa is known for its rich history, cultural diversity, and natural resources. It has a population of over 381 million people and is home to over 2,000 ethnic groups. The region is also known for its music, dance, and art, which have influenced various cultural movements around the world.

The economy of West Africa is diverse and includes agriculture, mining, and services. The region is rich in natural resources such as gold, diamonds, oil, and gas, and many of the countries have made significant progress in recent years toward economic development.

However, West Africa also faces various challenges such as poverty, political instability, and security threats such as terrorism, piracy, and organized crime. The region has also been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, which has had significant economic and social impacts.